Flix-Fix of the Week: About Time

When I was 16, I tweeted “The best part about movies is that for 90 min you get to escape the horribleness of life and be a part of something greater.” I said this years ago because I had a flair for the dramatic which had been acquired from my father, but I was also dreadfully lonely and did truly want to escape life.

Now, almost four years later, although I no longer have a twitter, and I’ve pulled back on the drama spectrum (I think) I still mean this sentiment whole heartedly, albeit with a little different wording. Today I’d say “The best part about movies is that for 90 minutes you get to elevate from the craziness of life and be part of something greatly different from our own lives.  There’s no doubt that I don’t have such a negative view of life ( I’m actually kind of ‘living the dream’ as my buddy Alex would say) however, I still think movies have the extraordinary power to bring us together in community and inspire us. In a hectic, schedule packed world where we want to only isolate ourselves, they allow us to feel like we are a part of situations that we could have never dreamed of. We get to be the heroes we never were, or still aspire to be. Or maybe the ladies man, we never got the courage to pursue. Regardless, movies are important and that is why I present to you “Friday Night Flix Fix”. A new weekly segment where I give you a great movie to stay in with friends and family and watch in community.

This week my pick is the feel great movie of the century: About Time

About-time-hashtagNow, I’ll admit to you I give a very biased opinion of this film. If I had to pick a guilty pleasure movie, hands down it is this movie. I’ve seen it more times than I care to say, but it gives me the feels like no other movie.

At its core, the film revolves around Tim (played by Domhnall Gleeson) who, on his twenty-first birthday,finds out the great family secret from his father (played brilliantly by Bill Nighy) that all the men in his family can travel through time. The film then follows Tim through his life and how he uses this ability mainly to pursue one thing: love. Now on the surface you may think this movie is just like any other time travel movie, and will follow along as the character takes advantage of his abilities in the beginning, but then makes a mistake and creates a rift in the space-time continuum that cannot be undone. Or perhaps the movie will be the classic love movie where the couple meets each other and quickly loves each other, then hates each other, then loves each other again in a relationship that you know would never actually work out in reality.  NOPE. The movie really does focus on love, but on all levels. Love for your spouse, love for your children, love for your siblings, and uncles, love for your friends, and just a pure love for life in general (and my love for Rachel McAdams who is perfect in this movie).

However, this movie isn’t without its faults. With an abundance of narration exposition, and a few plot holes, there are reasons to find this movie sub-par. I tell you though, that it is so dang heart-meltingly cute that you won’t care at all about anything that might be wrong, you just want to sit there and believe in love.

This movie is perfect to watch with anyone. Your family, or significant other, even the bros. To tell you the truth, the first time I watched it was with three other dudes (we were all single obviously, and now that I think about it still are). Most recently, I watched it at one in the morning with my roommate Kyle, who was viewing it for the first time. As the film finished he said almost immediately “That was a damn good movie” and I on the other hand just wanted to call my parents and tell them how much I loved them. That’s the power of this movie, that no matter who you are, you can’t help but get sucked into its romance. It is sappy, realistic, funny, cute, touching, heart warming, entertaining, and if you don’t like it, you literally don’t have a heart and I really hope you find love someday. (But you won’t because if you can’t love this movie you are a robot and robots can’t legally get married). So if you’re looking for something to do tonight or tomorrow, or any time ever, watch this movie.

You can find it available for streaming on HBO, or for rental on Amazon, Google Play, or Vudu.

My overall rating of this movie: My brain says 7.5 out of 10, but my heart says 15 out of 10.

Agree with this? Let’s be friends. Don’t like the movie? Watch it again, and don’t suck at life, then let’s be friends.

Leave a Reply

